Ravel: The complete solo piano music


The complete solo piano works of one of Angela Hewitt’s favourite composers, Maurice Ravel.

Menuet antique
Pavane pour une infante défunte
Valses nobles et sentimentales
Le tombeau de Couperin

Sérénade grotesque
Jeux d’eau
Gaspard de la nuit
Menuet sur le nom d’Haydn
À la manière de Borodine
À la manière de Chabrier

“Hewitt’s is, unlike a number of other versions of Ravel’s œuvre, a highly worthwhile venture, full of stylish, intelligent playing” (International Record Review)

“This is revelatory playing … Hewitt is never anything other than stimulating, probing, characterful and sensitive to both the individual nuance and broader perspective of each piece” (International Piano)

“Revelatory playing that comprehensively challenges current perceived standards of Ravel keyboard interpretation to set alongside the greatest of the past masters … a landmark set that offers unbound opportunities to learn, discover and delight in” (Piano, Germany)

“a magnificent survey … a treasure trove!” (Gramophone)

“second to none” (The Penguin Guide to Compact Discs)

In stock