Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Vol. 6


Piano Sonata in G major Op 49 No 2Piano Sonata in E major Op 14 No 1
Piano Sonata in G minor Op 49 No 1
Piano Sonata in G major Op 31 No 1
Piano Sonata in E flat major ‘Les adieux’ Op 81a

Another instalment of Angela Hewitt’s much-lauded Beethoven presents five piano sonatas, culminating with the masterly ‘Les adieux’. As usual, Angela’s booklet notes muse compellingly on the music, performance practice and all things Beethovenian.

“[Hewitt’s] playing has all the qualities one associates with her renowned Bach: crisp, clean articulation, sparing use of the pedals as if she is reimagining the music on the instruments Beethoven played … all pure delight” (The Sunday Times)

“Hewitt delivers throughout and her detailed and helpful sleeve notes demonstrate her superb attention to the details of every moment of each of these five works, and the formidable intelligence with which she tackles them” (Classic FM)

In stock