Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Opp 2/2, 10/1, 78 & 110


Piano Sonata in A major Op 2 No 2
Allegro vivace
Largo appassionato
Scherzo: Allegretto
Rondo: Grazioso
Piano Sonata in C minor Op 10 No 1
Allegro molto e con brio
Adagio molto
Piano Sonata in F sharp major Op 78
Adagio cantabile – Allegro ma non troppo
Allegro vivace
Piano Sonata in A flat major Op 110
Moderato, cantabile molto espressivo
Allegro molto
Adagio ma non troppo – Fuga: Allegro ma non troppo

Angela Hewitt has been much praised in her earlier recordings of Beethoven’s piano sonatas—displaying ‘exquisite taste’—and now turns her ‘uncluttered clarity of thought and inspired structural pacing’ to four more works spanning the composer’s career. As ever, Angela’s accompanying notes provide fascinating insights into both the music and her performances.

In stock