Bach: Performance on the Piano

Bach Performance on the Piano


Hyperion Records DVDA68001

Angela Hewitt shares the inspiration and experience behind her award-winning playing in an illustrated lecture that explains the technical and practical steps essential for performing Bach on the piano. For the first time she appears on a 2-DVD set, launched in conjuntion with her Bach World Tour which took her to all corners of the globe during the 2007-2008 concert season. In the first disc, she conducts a ‘masterclass’, discussing all the challenges, possible pitfalls and delights in performing Bach on the piano. The second disc features Hewitt live in concert. This is an unmissable release.

‘No Bach lover will want to be without this fascinating double-DVD set from world-renowned Canadian pianist Angela Hewitt, who’s virtually inherited the mantle of ‘high priestess of Bach’ from the late Rosalyn Tureck. She delivers her very substantial lecture in a friendly manner yet provides a succession of deep, intricate insights into the astounding variety of musical issues involved in playing Bach on the modern piano. Best of all, though, is the recital … where Hewitt delivers her Bach with a compelling blend of virtuosity and respect’ (Classic FM Magazine *****)

‘Seeing a close-up of Angela Hewitt’s hands is like’What Hewitt has to say is full of wisdom and perspicacity, liberally illustrating the talk at her Fazioli piano … Hewitt’s poise, clarity of voicing, spontaneity, wonderful finger legato and palpable joy in performing these works is a masterclass in itself’ (Gramophone)

‘Watching the purring engine of a Rolls-Royce in motion … Precision, articulation and a sense of tamed power are evident in the springy musculature. Shots, too, of the face reveal the unpretended emotion behind each phrase as she practises in performance what she has demonstrated in lecture … The content is a masterclass. The location is the Fazioli piano factory, whose products she plays. The clear, singing treble and bright, unsmothering bass speak for themselves’ (The Sunday Times)

‘This superb two-DVD set from Hyperion offers an excellent opportunity to hear Angela Hewitt expound upon Bach performance and also presents a one-hour recital with the talented pianist … Angela Hewitt’s style and grace at the piano is nothing short of magnificent, and it’s a real treat (especially for those of us who don’t get out too often) to see live performances of pieces I’ve been listening to on her CDs for years’ (Audiophile Audition, USA)

‘Angela Hewitt’s comprehensive lecture to camera is addressed to a very wide spectrum of potentially interested people, ranging from music lovers through teachers, amateur pianists, more accomplished ones who have not yet played Bach, to full professionals, even those who have played his music in public … Her own Bach playing is an object-lesson in how to take on board the relevant aspects of harpsichord, clavichord and organ playing without trying to turn the piano into any of them … Hewitt wears her enormous erudition very lightly. Her insights are articulate, eloquent, sometimes profound, yet always pragmatic – in a word, she is superbly empirical’ (International Record Review)

Bach Performance on the Piano – An illustrated lecture


1 Chapter 1.0: Introduction (1’41)
2 Chapter 1.1: Preface (2’33)
3 Chapter 1.2: Early beginnings (2’46)
4 Chapter 1.3: Bach on the modern piano (6’02)
5 Chapter 2.0: The Essentials (1’04)
6 Chapter 2.1: Phrasing (4’00)
7 Chapter 2.2: Singing Tone (2’57)
8 Chapter 2.3: Choosing an Articulation (3’57)
9 Chapter 2.4: Imitating Bowing (10’04)
10 Chapter 2.5: Sonata No 2 in D major for gamba and harpsichord, BWV1028 (Bach). Movement 2. Andante (4’35) with Daniel Müller-Schott (cello)
11 Chapter 2.6: Fingering (5’08)
12 Chapter 2.7: The Left Hand (1’29)
13 Chapter 2.8: Pedalling (4’08)
14 Chapter 3.0: Interpretation (2’06)
15 Chapter 3.1: Tempo (10’14)
16 Chapter 3.2: Dynamics (5’04)
17 Chapter 3.3: Rhythmic Alterations (6’31)
18 Chapter 3.4: Rubato (4’06)
19 Chapter 3.5: Keys (4’44)
20 Chapter 4.0: The Dance in Bach (1’26)
21 Chapter 4.1: Dance and the Music of J S Bach (8’17)
22 Chapter 4.2: Dance and Tempo (2’08)
23 Chapter 5.0: Learning a Fugue (4’05)
24 Chapter 5.1: Introduction (2’10)
25 Chapter 5.2: Articulation (5’06)
26 Chapter 5.3: Fingering (1’12)
27 Chapter 5.4: Interpretation (5’49)
28 Chapter 6.0: Ornamentation (3’15)
29 Chapter 6.1: Preface (2’43)
30 Chapter 6.2: Basic Rules (3’53)
31 Chapter 6.3: Adding Ornaments (7’45)
32 Chapter 7.0: Practical Advice (1’33)
33 Chapter 7.1: Editions (3’26)
34 Chapter 7.2: Practising (3’19)
35 Chapter 7.3: Memorizing (3’32)
36 Chapter 7.4: In Performance (4’15)


1 Applause (0’22)
Partita No 4 in D major, BWV828
2 Movement 1: Ouverture – (Allegro] (6’22)
3 Movement 2: Allemande (9’12)
4 Movement 3: Courante (3’42)
5 Movement 4: Aria (2’09)
6 Movement 5: Sarabande (6’03)
7 Movement 6: Menuet (1’29)
8 Movement 7: Gigue (3’51)
Italian Concerto in F major, BWV971
9 Movement 1: (untitled] (3’47)
10 Movement 2: Andante (6’16)
11 Movement 3: Presto (3’27)
Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D minor, BWV903
12 Movement 1: Fantasia (7’42)
13 Movement 2: Fugue (5’19)