Debussy: Solo Piano Music

Debussy Solo Piano Music

£10.99Add to cart

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)

Hyperion Records CDA67898

Angela Hewitt’s previous forays into the French repertoire have been praised for their ‘tenderness, Gallic wit, verve, and—the most important ingredient of all—charm’. These qualities are very much to the fore in this new disc of Debussy featuring some of the composer’s most sunlit, delightful and popular works.

‘An ideal introduction to Debussy… one that can be enjoyed equally by experienced listeners – thanks to the artless touch and precise colours the Canadian pianist brings to each piece’ (Financial Times)

Children’s Corner (17’05)
1. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum (2’10)
2. Jimbo’s Lullaby (3’26)
3. Serenade for the Doll (2’52)
4. The snow is dancing (2’41)
5. The Little Shepherd (2’50)
6. Golliwog’s Cake-Walk (3’06)

Suite Bergamasque (18’27)
7. Prélude (4’20)
8. Menuet (4’30)
9. Clair de lune (5’36)
10. Passepied (4’01)
11. Danse (5’28)

Deux Arabesques (7’43)
12. Andantino (4’01)
13. Allegretto scherzando (3’42)

Pour le piano (14’06)
14. Prélude (4’23)
15. Sarabande (5’31)
16. Toccata (4’12)
17. Masques (5’03)
18. L’isle joyeuse (6’42)
19. La plus que lente (4’51)

Children’s Corner was written for Debussy’s beloved daughter (though not, as Hewitt explains, for her to play immediately). Hewitt embraces the music’s wit, artful references and gentle beauty. The atmospheric Suite bergamasque includes the famous ‘Clair de lune’. Also included are the tragic Masques and gorgeously exuberant L’isle joyeuse. Hewitt and Debussy are a perfect match.

‘This is one of the better offerings for Debussy’s 150th anniversary… It should come as no surprise that Hewitt is a remarkably fine Debussy pianist… Hyperion captures the sound marvellously… Special mention should be made of ‘Clair de lune’: it is quite an achievement for its lyrical beauty to be heard afresh’ (BBC Music Magazine)

‘The playing is most distinguished… The ‘Passepied’, with its left-hand staccato phrases, is a perfect example of the Fazioli’s velvety touch’ (International Record Review)

For online sales in Canada, please go to: