Bach: Flute Sonatas

Bach- Flute Sonatas


Hyperion Records CDA67897

Fans of Angela Hewitt will be delighted to find her in chamber mode, accompanying Andrea Oliva (described as ‘one of the best flutists of his generation, a shining star in the world of the flute’ by Sir James Galway) in a programme of J S Bach’s flute sonatas (including one by his most famous and talented son, CPE). Of unfailingly remarkable quality, all these works exploit the full potential of an instrument which was only just coming into its own when they were written. Oliva’s lyricism and agility coupled with Hewitt’s musicianship—not to mention her lifelong rapport with Bach’s music—make this an album to treasure.

Andrea Oliva (flute), Angela Hewitt (piano)

Sonata in E flat major BWV1031 (11’13)
1. Allegro moderato (4’03)
2. Siciliana (2’09)
3. Allegro (5’01)

Sonata in G minor BWV1020 (11’52)
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach (1714-1788)
4. (Allegro) (4’12)
5. Adagio (2’34)
6. Allegro (5’06)

Sonata in C major BWV1033 (9’03)
7. Andante (1’40)
8. Allegro (2’37)
9. Adagio (1’49)
10. Menuetto I and II (2’57)

Sonata in E minor BWV1034 (14’51)
11. Adagio ma non tanto (3’21)
12. Allegro (2’44)
13. Andante (3’57)
14. Allegro (4’49)

Sonata in E major BWV1035 (12’39)
15. Adagio ma non tanto (2’37)
16. Allegro (3’06)
17. Siciliana (3’41)
18. Allegro assai (3’15)

Sonata in B minor BWV1030 (18’10)
19. Andante (7’54)
20. Largo e dolce (4’23)
21. Presto – Allegro (5’53)

‘Oliva’s modern silver flute has a glorious shimmering quality and an even tone… The combination of these two sensitive artists creates some memorable moments… Oliva’s breath-control is astonishing, Hewitt’s clean articulation exemplary … This is an inspired modern-instrument take on Bach’ (BBC Music Magazine)

‘Beyond doubt… are the taste and poise of these performances by Angela Hewitt and Andrea Oliva.’ (The Daily Telegraph)

‘Andrea Oliva and Angela Hewitt relish the flowing nature of such delightful pieces, always bringing a gentle lilt and lift to the proceedings… Devotees of counterpoint will not be disappointed either, and will relish Hewitt’s ability to point up canons and imitative effects in the keyboard parts, as well as her always refined use of staccato… Oliva’s elegance of phrasing and breath control are everywhere exemplary’ (International Record Review)

‘Oliva… is evidently an outstanding player… Hewitt is a model of discretion and elegance’ (The Guardian)

For online sales in Canada, please go to: